The next round of Safety Standout Awards is open. Apply here!


The EHS Daily Advisor Safety Standout Awards recognize companies and safety professionals who excel in making their workplaces safe. Awards will be presented annually at the EHS Daily Advisor’s Safety Summit and Safety Culture conferences.

Our first four Safety Standout Award winners will receive plaques at the award winners’ reception at the 5th Annual Safety Summit in Orlando, Florida, on April 17, 2018. Winners will also be featured on the EHS Daily Advisor website, in a press release, and in a feature article; have the opportunity to present their achievements to the Safety Summit audience; and receive one (1) complimentary conference registration.

The winners are:

Best Overall Safety Program/Culture Award: Dynamic Energy Services International, LLC (DYNESI)

Dynamic Energy Services International, LLC (DYNESI) is a full line energy service. DYNESI brings a seamless integrated solution to the client, assuming all the mission-critical scopes to ensure adherence to schedule and budget. Dynamic offers a broad spectrum of services across its four business units; while each is unique and stands alone in its particular business, each is supportive of the others and can, therefore, provide a fully integrated and commercially beneficial solution if required.

BLR’s Lifetime Achievement in Safety Award: Earl Blair, CSP

Earl Blair, CSP, is an associate professor of safety management and an award-winning author and teacher at Eastern Kentucky University. Blair has authored a number of articles in safety publications such as Professional Safety Journal and is a frequent speaker at national and international safety seminars. His research involves ways to improve safety performance through leadership, measurement, and education.

Innovations in Safety Training Award: Ingalls Shipbuilding

For 80 years, the employees of Ingalls Shipbuilding have pioneered the development and production of technologically advanced, highly capable warships for the surface Navy fleet, U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Marine Corps, and foreign and commercial customers. Ingalls Shipbuilding is the largest manufacturing employer in the state of Mississippi and a major contributor to the economic growth of the state of Alabama, as well.

Young Safety Professional Excellence Award: Technical Sergeant DéJayé A. Herrera

Technical Sergeant DéJayé A. Herrera is the occupational safety manager for the 704th Test Group, Holloman Air Force Base, New Mexico. Herrera transitioned into the safety profession in 2014, serving as a ground safety manager for the 57th Wing at Nellis Air Force Base, Nevada. Herrera is a graduate of the Community College of the Air Force, the Airman Leadership School, and the Non-Commissioned Officer School, where she earned distinguished graduate honors. Herrera is currently pursuing a bachelor’s degree in Occupational Safety and Health.

Read more about the winners here.

Applications are closed, but the next round is open. (Submissions due 7/1/2018.) Download an application here.


Previous categories


Best Overall Safety Program/Culture Award

Criteria: Winner will demonstrate effective employee engagement and management buy-in, worksite hazard analysis, hazard prevention and controls, safety and health training, and have a low injury rate (benchmarked against appropriate industry). Submissions must include examples of safety program materials and show winner’s investment in safety (PPE, training hours, training resources, training services, consulting, hours of safety meeting, incentives, etc.).

Download Application

Innovations in Safety Training Award

Criteria: Winner will demonstrate how its training program has enhanced employee engagement in hazard prevention and safe practices, adapted to the changing workforce and workplace, its use of different materials and delivery technologies, and how the program’s effectiveness is measured with these innovations.

Download Application

Young Safety Professional Excellence Award (individual award)

Criteria: Winner will have less than 10 years of experience in the safety field and have demonstrated leadership and other achievements. Applicants must submit at least one letter of support.

Download Application

BLR’s Lifetime Achievement in Safety Award (individual award)

Criteria: Winner will have at least 10 years of experience in the field and currently hold a leadership position (Director level or higher). Applicants must submit at least one letter of support.

Download Application

Submissions Guidelines and Policy:

  • All applications must be submitted via email to using the PDF application(s) downloaded from the links below.
  • An individual or company may submit no more than two (2) applications. Each submission requires a separate completed application form.
  • If an award is granted, applicants agree to send at least one representative to the 2018 EHS Daily Advisor Safety Summit.
  • Applications must be submitted no later than February 1, 2018.


Judgment of Applications

The EHS Daily Advisor editorial staff will evaluate all applications and will select the winners based on question responses and submitted supplemental materials in relation to the specific criteria listed within each individual award’s application.

Announcement of Winners

Winners of the award will be notified by telephone and in writing no later than March 15, 2018. All other applicants will be notified of their application status no later than April 1, 2018. Winners will be announced at a reception at the 5th annual EHS Daily Advisor Safety Summit in Orlando, FL, April 16–18, 2018.

Title Sponsor

SafeStart is the most successful safety training process in the world for developing personal, 24/7 safety skills—proven to reduce injuries on average 50%. SafeStart has trained over 3 million people at more than 3,000 companies and 10,000 sites in over 60 countries and is available in 32 languages. Learn More.