2020 Safety Standout Awards

Application period is closed. Stay tuned for the announcement of winners!

The EHS Daily Advisor Safety Standout Awards recognize companies who excel in making their workplaces safe.

Safety Standout Award winners will receive one (1) complimentary conference registration to the Safety Summit 2020, in April 6-8 in Indianapolis, IN. Winners will also receive a plaque and be featured on the EHS Daily Advisor website, in a press release, and in a feature article.

It is free to apply. Full submission guidelines and rules below.

Application deadline: January 6, 2020 January 24, 2020 (Deadline Extended!)

Applications are now being accepted for the following 6 awards. 

IMPORTANT INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICATION COMPLETION: Download your PDF award applications to your computer before filling out the form—do not fill out the form within your web browser or print out/scan your completed application, as this may result in loss of data! Once you have filled out all fields within your application, save the PDF file to your computer, then attach this file to your e-mail to with all of your supplementary materials.

Best Overall Safety Program and Culture

The winner of the Best Overall Safety Program and Culture Award will demonstrate an exceptional commitment to safety demonstrated by strong engagement across all levels of the organization, a comprehensive process for hazard identification and assessment, effective program evaluation and improvement strategies, training that supports the safety culture, and evidence of successful injury prevention efforts.

Download Application

Innovations in Safety Training Award

The key word to remember as you apply for the Innovations in Safety Training Award is “innovations.” We are looking for safety training programs that go beyond the norm and demonstrate not only a commitment to compliance but also show an effort to adapt programs to the unique demands of the company’s workforce and measure successes and/or failings to continually improve the program for the future.

Download Application

BLR’s Lifetime Achievement in Safety Award

The winner of BLR’s Lifetime Achievement in Safety Award will have at least 10 years of experience in the safety field and currently hold a leadership position (defined as Director level or higher) where workplace safety is the primary function or focus.

Download Application

Moving Beyond Compliance Award

The winner of the Moving Beyond Compliance Award will demonstrate how it has addressed behavioral safety and human factors (i.e., worker’s physical and mental abilities, decisions, and actions) to achieve a strong culture of safety that exceeds minimum compliance requirements.

Download Application

Best Safety Committee

The winner of the Best Safety Committee Award will demonstrate that its safety committee has varied representation, promotes engagement, is effective at improving safety in the workplace, and achieves a high level of communication within the company.

Download Application

Young Safety Professional Excellence Award

The winner of the Young Safety Professional Excellence Award will have fewer than 10 years of experience in the safety field and will have demonstrated leadership abilities and other achievements that highlight his or her strong commitment to safety.

Download Application

2020 Title Sponsor

SafeStart is the most successful safety training process in the world for developing personal, 24/7 safety skills—proven to reduce injuries on average 50%. SafeStart has trained over 3 million people at more than 3,000 companies and 10,000 sites in over 60 countries and is available in 32 languages. Learn More.


Submissions Guidelines and Policy:

  • All applications must be submitted via email to using the PDF application(s) downloaded from the links above.
  • An individual or company may submit no more than two (2) applications. Each submission requires a separate completed application form.
  • If an award is granted, applicants agree to send at least one representative to the 2020 EHS Daily Advisor Safety Summit.
  • Runners-up from our previous rounds of Safety Standout Awards are encouraged to apply again!
  • Applications must be submitted no later than January 24, 2020.

Judgment of Applications

The EHS Daily Advisor editorial staff will evaluate all applications and will select the winners based on question responses and submitted supplemental materials in relation to the specific criteria listed within each individual award’s application.

Notification and Announcement of Winners

All applicants (including selected winners and runners-up) will be notified of their application status by e-mail no later than March 6, 2020. Winners will be announced in an article on the EHS Daily Advisor and will receive their awards at a ceremony at the Safety Summit 2020 event in Indianapolis, IN, April 6–8, 2020.